Hundreds if not thousands of children living in Quebec face considerable barriers in their access to education: they are charged $5000 to $6000 per year by the Ministry of Education in order to attend public schools. The Law on Public Education only provides free schooling to children who are covered by a list of immigration categories. This obstacle prevents many children without immigration status from accessing their fundamental right to education.

This Quebec law is in violation of obligations to ensure universal access to education without discrimination, as codified in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights (article 26), the Convention on the Rights of the Child (article 28), and the International Covenant on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights (article 13).

Quebec is exceptional in relation to most European countries and to the United States, where children without status can access schools. Even in the other largest Canadian cities, Toronto and Vancouver, measures have been taken to ensure free access to school for children without status.

Pushed to respond to this situation, the government of Quebec announced some new directives in June 2013. While they some restrictions were loosened, realities on the ground have not changed much. Most children without status are still excluded from the right to free schooling, namely those whose parents’ work or study permits expired over a year ago and those whose assylum claims have been refused and whose presence in the country is no longer permitted. For these children, the only solution is to appeal to case-by-case exceptions provided through school boards and the ministry, a far cry from universal access to schooling. Children continue to be excluded.

See also :

Take action
Get involved
In the news
Information for families

Au moins un millier d’enfants vivant au Québec n’ont pas accès à l’éducation comme les autres : des frais de 5000 à 6000 $ par année leur sont demandés par le ministère de l’Éducation pour pouvoir s’inscrire à l’école publique. La Loi sur l’instruction publique exige une résidence légale pour avoir droit à la gratuité scolaire. C’est là l’obstacle qui empêche de nombreux enfants sans statut d’immigration d’avoir accès au droit fondamental à l’éducation.

Cette loi met le Québec en contradiction avec les obligations nationales et internationales — assurer l’accès universel à l’éducation gratuite sans discrimination — consignées dans les instruments de protection des droits humains, comme la Déclaration universelle des droits de l’homme (article 26), la Convention relative aux droits de l’enfant (article 28) etle Pacte international relatif aux droits économiques, sociaux et culturels (article 13).

Cette situation contraste avec celle qui prévaut dans la plupart des pays européens et aux États-Unis où tous les enfants, y compris les enfants sans-papiers, peuvent accéder gratuitement aux écoles en vertu d’une décision de la Cour suprême (1982). De même, les deux autres grandes villes d’immigration au Canada, Toronto et Vancouver, permettent aux enfants sans-papiers de s’inscrire à l’école sans contrepartie financière.

Interpellé sur cette question, le gouvernement québécois a annoncé de nouvelles directives en juin 2013. Si celles-ci témoignent d’un certain assouplissement, les réalités sur le terrain ont très peu changées et la plupart des enfants sans statut n’ont toujours pas droit à l’école gratuite, en particulier ceux dont le permis de travail ou d’études des parents est périmé depuis plus d’un an et les demandeurs d’asile refusés dont la présence n’est pas permise sur le territoire. Pour eux, la seule solution repose sur la bienveillance des services sociaux et des commissions scolaires, ce qui, on en conviendra, est loin de la reconnaissance du droit à l’éducation pour tous les enfants.

Voir aussi :

Agir
Comment s’impliquer
Notre revue des médias
Des informations pour les familles